Why I should never make a remix

Seriously, this is pretty terrible.

At any rate, I enjoyed RIP: A Remix Manifesto. However, after being preached to for an hour-and-a-half about how everything deserves to be shared, I couldn’t help but think about how many pirates out there don’t share. How they would gladly flock to this “remix manifesto” with a self-righteous fervor that is entirely hypocritical. I don’t have any numbers to back this up, but I would strongly suspect that most people who pirate things are not doing so with any intention of remixing or contributing back to society in any way.

They just want free stuff. We all want free stuff.

But is that really a good reason to pirate things? To be honest, I don’t think it is.

9 Responses to Why I should never make a remix

  1. I don’t think it’s terrible at all. It would be better with music, though. 🙂

  2. aflaten says:

    I messed a bit with music in the creation process.

    It, uh… it wasn’t ending up “better.”

    Silence can make an impact too! That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it.

  3. caseyawilson says:

    I think that’s a really useful point to make. As I’ve been thinking about it, I’ve been trying to decide if we can really separate piracy and remixing. I am rather okay with remixing, because I do think that it’s giving something back to society, whether it be a near-professional mash-up of movie trailers or a very amateur connecting of clips like my video.

    But I have yet to find a way that I am willing to defend most piracy, and I feel like loosening our laws to give freedom to remixers will also, by default, give the same freedom to pirates who don’t share. I have no idea what the answer will end up being, though I do think some kind of change needs to happen, but you did hit on one of the more troubling distinctions that needs to be dealt with while we make that change.

  4. Xuerui says:

    You brought up great points! It is great if we could share creative ideas with others and make our own stuff base on brilliant creativity. But do not forget that human beings are selfish and lazy (I hate to say that but it is true). Some people may just do not want to share with others or they simply steal creativity from others and make use of it without any change. We are lazy and we do not want to create but grab something and use. That’s why copyright laws are constituted. The question is how we define “remix” and “pirate”? How much do we “borrow” from others is appropriate?

  5. Your point of view is really interesting. We’ve talked a bit in class the last few weeks about collaborative work, and I posted on creative commons last week but it’s true, pirates’ motivation isn’t adding to the collaborative effort – it’s getting free stuff! I really liked your video, I laughed out loud at the clip of the kids ripping the wrapping off their presents!

  6. Sijia says:

    Right, I doubt that the ultimate goal of pirates is to contribute to societal well-being. But it is a possible side-effect, who knows? However, even if the motivation of pirate is to share and disseminate information and wisdom, I am still not sure if it is a reason good enough to make pirate legitimate.

Leave a Reply

